Posted by: susanjcaldwell28 | February 20, 2015

SEAGRASS RESTAURANT, SOUTH RICHMOND STREET, PORTOBELLO.

I have said it before and I will say it again – You get more bang for your buck in Portobello.  I have been to a few eateries in South Richmond Street over the last few months and I have been amazed at the price,quality of food and good service and many establishments offering BYOB with no corkage.  I am tired of paying 25 quid for a bottle of mediocre wine when you can buy a nice wine for 8 euro and bring it with you. It makes a hell of a difference to the price of the meal.  With this in mind. I set out with my two good friends Dorothy Murphy and Mary Shiel after a lunch time play in Powerscourt Townhouse for a nice relaxing lunch in Seagrass in Portobello.  OK, it has to be said this is definitely the Jewel in Portobello’s crown. In fact, I would go so far as to say it is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in.  I looked up the menu online and it looked really interesting. I’m vegan but my friends are not.  There were two very interesting vegetarian options on the menu and when I enquired about vegan options, I was told there was no problem creating same.

We arrived in the restaurant and there was one large group and another few small groups in situ, which was not bad for 2.30 on a Thursday afternoon. The restaurant is lovely, very elegant and laidback with some nice art work on the walls. We were met by a lovely waitress who had a love smile and made us feel extremely welcome.  We were handed the menus. As I said they sounded really interesting.The prices, however, were unbelievably reasonable. 5 euro for starters and 10 euro for main courses, BYOB with no corkage (we brought 2!) and incredibly, an offer for January and February of buy one get one free on starters AND mains.  We had bought our own wine so I assumed this offer would not be on the table, so to speak, but still felt it was great value.

We duly ordered.  I ordered the soup which was a roast pepper soup.  Absolutely delicious. Our main courses arrived with just the right time between courses. I had a gnocchi with aubergine, mushrooms, whole garlic and loads of herbs in a lovely sauce.  It was fantastic.  My friends loved their main courses and again raved about the presentation. No nouvelle cuisine portions here. The atmosphere was wonderful and the staff so attentive. We asked for our bill and unbelievably, they had taken off one starter and one main from the bill. This Is Michelin Star cooking at high street prices. When I think of what so many mediocre restaurants charge for a bland pizza or pasta dish in comparison. Our bill came to 38 euro. We were gobsmacked. Beautiful food at unbelievably low prices, presented by somebody who obviously enjoys the craft of cooking, a fabulous classy restaurant with wonderful staff. I will be back again very soon and so will my friends. In fact, they are telling everyone they know about this place. Get in there quick because this amazing offer for lunch finishes at the end of this month. I cannot wait to go back. Seagrass, South Richmond Street, Portobello (just up from Kelly’s corner). Grab a bottle of wine in the Spar on the corner and head in there. If they added a few vegan options to their menu, I might never leave the place! Absolutely amazing. Highly highly highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

Categories

