Posted by: susanjcaldwell28 | August 25, 2012

WALLACE TAVERNA ITALIAN QUARTER (OPPOSITE MILLENIUM BRIDGE)

I have developed something of a reputation for finding cheap but cheerful restaurants.  I don’t do fast food or tacky uncomfortable restaurants.  The dining experience has to be aesthetically pleasing as well as delicious, a welcome break from the pressures of life.  Last week I had one such experience with my wonderful friend Paula Farrell Daly.  We had gotten back in touch on FB having been to drama college together some 22 years previously.

I decided on Wallace Taverna because they have a really fab lunch deal from Monday to Friday, a mere 10 euro for lunch + wine.  Yes, the wine has to be included.  Im not interested in 3 course lunches, a mains and wine suit me just fine.  It is situated just across from the Millennium Bridge on the northside, in what is known as The Italian Quarter.  This is a fantastic spot reminiscent of continental dining.  I have visited all the restaurants here, Bar Italia and Entocce Della Langhe as well, and all are excellent.

The décor is lovely, simple but warm and comfortable with nice paintings on the walls.  There is also ample space upstairs. It is bright and spacious and there is enough room between tables to have a private conversation. The staff are attentive and polite without being intrusive.

Paula ordered a risotto, which came heavily garnished with delish rocket leaves. I decided on the penne arrabiata.  It was fantastic, the sauce having the right combination of garlic, basil and chillies and always piping hot, which is must for me as I cannot eat warm food.  The house wine that comes with the meal is very good, a nice smooth but strong wine and they do not skimp on the measure.  Paula thoroughly enjoyed her risotto. After the main course we decided to take our wine outside (at this stage we had ordered a bottle!!) and sit looking out at the liffey whilst we laughed our heads off and caught up on old times.

There is ample space outside and you can choose to sit with a view of the liffey or take a seat to the side overlooking the Italian Quarter itself.  Once, when I was there last summer, there was singing and dancing going on.  If you have not experienced the Italian Quarter I suggest you do so and avail of this wonderful lunch time offer. The Proprietor, Mick Wallace,  owes a mere 40 million plus VAT, so you can take your mind of your own money worries by comparison, whilst enjoying a cheap lunch!!

Responses

  1. Very well put Susan. I totally enjoyed my meal last week in this restaurant. I haven’t stopped talking to family and friends about it. Such great value for money in a beautiful setting. You can’t beat this kind of value for great food and wine, Not to mention the company. I never knew of this restaurant or the lattin quater area. I look forward to our next lunch together in another one of your recommended Restaurants.

    • Thank you Paula, sorry only seeing this now. Cant remember my email addressfor it. Yes, I love that place and I know plenty more, look at my cheap guide here and looking forward to seeing you very soon. It was the tonic I needed, great discussing old memories of college and catching up, you are brill. xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

