Posted by: susanjcaldwell28 | May 27, 2011

DOUGLAS HYDE GALLERY, TRINITY COLLEGE

Headed into here today after my Friday lunch.  It only seems fitting to follow lunch with an art exhibition.  I have to say I hate this space, in the midst of Trinity College, someone saw fit to plant a car-park like space in the name of art.  It really pisses me off when I see this horrible concrete spaces that are meant to be interesting but are just austere and dull.  Well the space pretty much blended in with the exhibition this time.  It was a shiva exhibition, which basically is an ovoid shape used in hinduism to meditate by.  All very interesting and all that and maybe I lack depth but walking around a room looking at dozens of ovoid shapes in various sizes and colours doesn’t excite me. Well worth missing.

On our way out, I noticed there was a film on about soldiers from the Russian Army serving in Afghanastan in the 1990’s.  The film was beautifully shot and the first thing that struck me was the youth of the boys, they looked like they should be sitting their Junior Cert and they probably were all in the 16 – 18 age group.  It captured the blank look on their faces and the desolation and hopelessness of the place and the fulility of war.  In the midst of an attack, one guy was preparing multiple loaves of bread in an oven.  I didnt watch the entire film because it was very long, but it was well worth watching some of it to get the atmosphere of war and fear across.  Bypass the eggs and have a look at the film instead!

Responses

  1. I think I’ll Avoid the egg shape cosmos!


Leave a Reply

Categories

